What VARK Means to Me

5 10 2010

When I took the VARK, my results came back as K-V-A-R.   I believe that the results came back pretty much as I thought they would.  My first one was Kinesthetic.  This result makes sense because when I do like lectures or I read in front of a group I tend to move around a whole lot.  I also must be doing something with my hands while I’m doing the speaking.  My second result was visual, and I tend to remember things and also learn things a lot better if I am able to see somebody do it first.  It gives an example to mimic and I can keep that in my mind while I am trying to do the task myself.  Third was aural. I tend to second guess myself a lot, so I find myself talking over my decisions and my ideas with other people trying to get their input.  Reading/writing was my last result in the VARK Test.  It makes a lot of sense, but it also maybe should have been a little higher up.  The reason why is because I truly don’t like to read.  It seems to be a waste of time.  Then on the other hand I love to write.  I like to write stories and have my friends read them. 

                Knowing this can really help me out with my academics.  I tend to have a hard time studying and I don’t feel I benefit from it.  But this might be because I’m not using the right method of studying according to my VARK results.  Also when it comes to learning I believe that if I try to work with people who have the same VARK results as me, I will be able to learn and be able to grasp the information better.  The reason is because they will understand how I learn because it will be the same as them, so they will be able to favor our learning habits


Actions

Information

Leave a comment